This article summarises some key metrics that you should focus on for your digital marketing efforts
Awareness
Reach
Reach is the potential unique viewers a post could have (usually your follower count plus accounts that shared the post’s follower counts).
Impressions
Impressions are when an advertisement or any other form of digital media renders on a user's screen. Impressions are defined by a user potentially seeing the advertisement. An impression is a metric used to quantify the number of digital views or engagements of a piece of content, usually an advertisement, digital post, or a web page. Impressions are also referred to as an "ad view." They are used in online advertising, which often pays on a per-impression basis. Counting impressions is essential to how web advertising is accounted and paid for in search engine marketing, as well as measuring the performance of social media campaigns.
Engagement
Clicks
Clicks are another form of engagement measured simply by the number of times followers click on your post. If you've posted a link to one of your landing pages and someone clicks on it, that's great! It means someone took the time not only to engage with your social media, but also to take real action to learn more.
Click-Through-Rate (CTR)
CTR is calculated by dividing the number of clicks in a reporting period by total impressions. For example, if your ad got 1000 impressions and was clicked 30 times, then your CTR would be: (30/1000) x 100= 3%.
What is the difference between clicks and impressions?
ROI
Referrals
Referrals are how a user lands on your website. In web analytics, you’ll see them broken down into sources. “Social” is usually the source/medium you’ll be monitoring, and then it’s broken down by network.
Conversions
Conversions is when someone purchases something from your site. A social conversion means they visited via a social media channel and then purchased something in that same visit.
Conversion Rate
The conversion rate is what percentage of visitors turn into leads and leads into customers. This is a general marketing KPI but it can also apply to any of the other categories if you want to track each channel separately. You could also track the total number of leads or conversions.